The new Christmas decorations of 2014

As previously mentioned, my family and I were lucky enough to go to California in October.  The shops were beautifully festooned with fall/autumnal decor in the run up to Thanksgiving.  Christmas decorations were being rolled in and I was fortunate enough to be able to purchase  some magical looking pieces.  The first of which were a couple of Potterybarn’s Silver Mercury Glass Christmas Trees.  I bought them in sizes mini and small.  I would have loved to have purchased it in large but I was rather nervous about the fragility of them.  I treated them like little newborn babies in my well padded (newly purchased) Whole Foods freezer bag!  There is a little cut out at the base so that you can insert fairy lights or a flameless battery operated tea/candle light.  I cannot wait to have them in situ (maybe on the sideboard and then the dining table on Christmas day) and will take a picture of them when they are in place but for now, do look them up on the Potterybarn website.  They will deliver to the UK.

Silver Mercury Glass Trees - Potterybarn c. £10.69 - £50.86 (depending on change rate)
Silver Mercury Glass Trees – Potterybarn c. £10.69 – £50.86 (depending on exchange rate)

There are a few mercury glass/silver Christmas trees out there (I am sure there will be more as the season progresses) but my favourite so far are the ones from Potterybarn.  Here are a few other options for sale this season.

Silver Tabletop Tree Decoration - Marks & Spencer £15
Silver Tabletop Tree Decoration – Marks & Spencer £15
Set of Three Mirrored Glass Trees - The Contemporary Home £36
Set of Three Mirrored Glass Trees – The Contemporary Home £36

Christmas season preparation

I am not the most organised person in the world, far from it but I do try to improve on my Christmas planning every year. It is November 9th and I have had my Christmas head on for a fair few weeks now. I started off by purchasing some Christmas decorations whilst my family and I were in California in October.  It is wonderfully festive already in the U.S what with Halloween and the lead up to Thanksgiving.  I purchased my first Christmas magazines whilst there and continue to add to my collection.  The covers are so enticing and they are packed with excellent tips for making the lead up to Christmas go as smoothly as possible. I have started to compile a bit of a wish list of decorations too. I shall post my most interesting finds as I see them.

Here are some links to my favourite UK Christmas publications so far:-

LSC XMAS cover house-and-garden House-Beautiful-Nov-2014-gift-box-2